Remove Saved Passwords from Web Browsers

When you log in to a specific website, sometimes your web browser will ask if you want it to remember the password for that site, or it may say "Remember me?" meaning "Do you want this site to hold on to your login credentials?" If you click for the browser to remember your password or to remember you, the browser will store your login information and autofill the login fields each time you go to access that specific site.

Warning! IT strongly recommends that you do NOT enable websites remember you, your password, etc. The reason for this is that it is easier for third parties to access your login credentials if the credentials are saved in a web browser. Additionally, when changing passwords, your old, saved password could be used to try and login and in some cases, locking your account. Clearing your saved passwords can mitigate these risks for you.

Safari (Mac)

In the menu bar, open the Safari menu

  1. Select Preferences
  2. Go to the Autofill tab
  3. Click the Edit button for Usernames and Passwords
  4. Delete the corresponding entry

Note: Keychain Access also has the ability to store passwords for web browsers - you can use the program to delete any unwanted passwords for websites if you are having problems with your web browser.

Safari (iPhone/iPad)

  1. Open the Settings app
  2. Select Passwords
  3. You can tap on an account and then select Delete Password. Alternatively, you can also delete multiple saved passwords at once by selecting Edit and then tapping on the accounts you would like to delete. Once the accounts are checked, click Delete at the top of the screen.

Google Chrome (Computer)

  1. On your computer, open Chrome.
  2. At the top right, click Profile   > Passwords  .‚Äč
  3. To the right of the website, click More (three vertical dots) > Remove.

To clear all your saved passwords, clear browsing data and select "Passwords."

Google Chrome (Android)

  1. On your Android phone or tablet, open Chrome.
  2. To the right of the address bar, tap More (three vertical dots).
  3. Tap Settings > Passwords.
  4. Tap the password you want to remove. At the top, tap Delete.

To clear all your saved passwords, clear browsing data and select "Passwords."

Google Chrome (iPhone & iPad)

  1. On your iPhone or iPad, open Chrome.
  2. At the bottom right, tap More (three horizontal dots).
  3. Tap Settings  > Passwords
  4. At the top right, tap Edit. Under "Saved Passwords," tap the site you want to remove > Delete.

To clear all your saved passwords, clear browsing data and select "Saved passwords."

Microsoft Edge

  1. Open Microsoft Edge 
  2. Select the Options menu (three horizontal dots)
  3. Select Settings > "Privacy, search, and services"
  4. Under the "Clear browsing data section", click Choose what to clear.
  5. Select Passwords and then select Clear now.

Password saving in Microsoft Edge is on by default. To turn it off:

  1. Open Microsoft Edge
  2. Select the Options menu (three horizontal dots) > Settings
  3. Under the Profiles menu, select Passwords.
  4. Use the toggle to turn off "Offer to save passwords".

Mozilla Firefox (Computer)

  1. Click on the menu button (three horizontal lines) to open the menu panel.
  2. Click Passwords
  3. From here, you can view, edit, or remove your saved logins. Click Remove to remove a login from Firefox.
  4. To remove all logins, click the three horizontal dots in the top right corner.
  5. Choose Remove All Logins.

Mozilla Firefox (Android)

These includes logins you've saved while using Firefox as well as synced logins from Firefox on other devices.

  1. Tap the menu button (three horizontal dots).
  2. Tap Settings.
  3. Select Logins and passwords in the General section.
  4. Tap Saved logins. You may need to enter your device password to view the saved login data.
  5. Tap on any of the logins on the list to view or copy it.
  6. Tap on the trash can icon to delete the selected login. If you use Sync, that login will be deleted on all your synchronized devices.

Mozilla Firefox (iPhone & iPad)

  1. Tap the menu button (three horizontal lines) at the bottom of the screen (the menu will be at the top right if you're using an iPad.)
  2. Tap Settings in the menu panel.
  3. Under the Privacy section select Logins & Passwords.
  4. Under Saved Logins select the name of the website.
  5. Tap Edit in the top right corner to change Username or Password (tapping this field in edit mode will reveal the stored password).
  6. Select Delete to delete the stored login data.

Internet Explorer

  1. Open the Internet Explorer browser.
  2. Click on the gear-shaped icon in the upper-right corner > Select "Internet options."
  3. In the pop-up that appears, click the "Content" tab.
  4. In the "AutoComplete" section, click [Settings].
  5. Click [Delete AutoComplete history...].
  6. To delete all saved passwords within Internet Explorer, click the checkbox next to "Passwords."
  7. Before you click [Delete], if you would like to keep any of the options in the pop-up, make sure they do not have a checkmark next to them > Click [Delete].
  8. Click [OK] and then [OK] again.
Was this helpful?
0 reviews

Details

Article ID: 10107
Created
Wed 12/2/15 3:54 PM
Modified
Mon 5/9/22 2:43 PM